

EMBASSY OF THE PHILIPPINES Consular Section Lisbon

Rua Braamcamp 13, 5º andar 1250-049 Lisboa, Portugal Tel: +351 216083274 Fax: +351 216 083251

filipinas.emb.lisbon@gmail.com

BALIKABAYAN PROGRAM INFORMATION SHEET

The *Balikbayan* Program, as instituted by Republic Act 6768 (amended by Republic Act 9174), was launched by the Philippine Government "under the administration of the Department of Tourism to attract and encourage overseas Filipinos to come and visit their motherland."

Who falls under the BALIKBAYAN Program?

By legal definition, a balikbayan is:

- A Filipino citizen who has been continuously out of the Philippines for a period of at least one (1) year from the date of last departure;
- A Filipino overseas worker; or
- A former Filipino citizen with foreign passport and members of his/her family. The term "family" shall mean the spouse and the children of the balikbayan (who are not balikbayan in their own right) who are travelling to the Philippines with the balikbayan.

What are the documents to be presented to show proof of BALIKBAYAN status?

- For Filipino citizens who have been continuously out of the country, you would need to show your Philippine passport showing date of last departure;
- For former Filipino citizens with foreign passport, you need to present your foreign passport and any of the following:
 - 1. Previous Philippine passport;
 - 2. Foreign Naturalization papers to show former Filipino citizenship; or
 - 3. Certification issued by the Embassy or Consulate of the adoptive country that the individual is a former Filipino citizen.

Who else can avail of the BALIKBAYAN Program?

Family members of the *balikbayan* can go to the Philippines without having to apply for a visa, provided they are travelling **together with the** *balikbayan*, pay immigration fees, and observe and comply with immigration rules and regulations. In addition to showing their foreign passport, a family member must present:

- A Birth Certificate (with English translation) or Report of Birth filed at the Embassy, in case of children;
- A Marriage Certificate (with English translation) or Report of Marriage filed at the Embassy, in case of spouse; and
- Adoption papers (proof of adoption) in case of legally adopted children.

According to the Bureau of Immigration, the Balikbayan Privilege can be availed of by the foreign member of a *balikbayan's* family EVERY TIME they enter the Philippines with the balikbayan (former Filipino/dual citizen) AND NOT ONLY ONCE A YEAR.

Please note that only family members of *balikbayans* from France and the other countries that enjoy the no-visa entry for 21-day stay may avail of the *balikbayan* privilege and be able to stay in the Philippines for a period of one year without having to apply for a temporary visitor's visa. All other nationals must secure entry visas prior to their travel to the Philippines.

If a *balikbayan* has used his/her privilege and stayed in the Philippines for one year, he/she may apply for an extension of stay for multiples of two months up to one additional year by paying the appropriate fees at the nearest Bureau of Immigration office.

LIST OF COUNTRIES INCLUDED UNDER THE NO-VISA ENTRY FOR 21-DAY STAY IN THE PHILIPPINES- Nationals from countries listed below are allowed to enter the Philippines without visas for a stay not exceeding twenty-one (21) days, provided they hold valid tickets for their return journey to port of origin or next port of destination. Department regulations require that passports are valid for a period of not less than six (6) months beyond the contemplated period of stay. However, Immigration Officers at ports of entry may exercise their discretion to admit holders of passports valid for at least sixty (60) days beyond the intended period of stay.

intended period of stay.		
1. Andorra	51. Ghana	101. Norway
2. Angola	52. Gibraltar	102. Oman
3. Antigua and Barbuda	53. Greece	103. Palau
4. Argentina	54. Grenada	104. Panama
5. Australia	55. Guatemala	105. Papua New Guinea
6. Austria	56. Guinea	106. Paraguay
7. Bahamas	57. Guinea Bissau	107. Peru
8. Bahrain	58. Guyana	108. Poland
9. Barbados	59. Haiti	109. Portugal
10. Belgium	60. Honduras	110. Qatar
11. Benin	61. Hungary	111. Republic of Korea
12. Bhutan	62. Iceland	112. Romania
13. Bolivia	63. Indonesia	113. Russia
14. Botswana	64. Ireland	114. Rwanda
15. Brazil*	65. Israel*	115. Saint Kitts and Nevis
16. Brunei Darussalam	66. Italy	116. Saint Lucia
17. Bulgaria	67. Jamaica	117. Saint Vincent & the Grenadines
18. Burkina Faso	68. Japan	118. Samoa
19. Burundi	69. Kenya	119. San Marino
20. Cambodia	70. Kiribati	120. Sao Tome and Principe
21. Cameroon	71. Kuwait	121. Saudi Arabia
22. Canada	72. Lao PDR	122. Senegal
23. Cape Verde	73. Latvia	123. Seychelles
24. Central African Republic	74. Lesotho	124. Singapore
25. Chad	75. Liberia	125. Slovakia
26. Chile	76. Liechtenstein	126. Slovenia
27. Colombia	77. Lithuania	127. Solomon Islands
28. Comoros	78. Luxembourg	128. Somalia
29. Congo	79. Madagascar	129. South Africa
30. Costa Rica	80. Malawi	130. Spain
31. Cote d'Ivoire	81. Malaysia	131. Suriname
32. Cyprus	82. Maldives	132. Swaziland
33. Czech Republic	83. Mali	133. Sweden
34. Democratic Republic of Congo	84. Malta	134. Switzerland
35. Denmark	85. Marshall Islands	135. Thailand
36. Djibouti	86. Mauritania	136. Togo
37. Dominica	87. Mauritius	137. Trinidad and Tobago
38. Dominican Republic	88. Mexico	138. Tunisia
39. Ecuador	89. Micronesia	139. Turkey
40. El Salvador	90. Monaco	140. Tuvalu
41. Equatorial Guinea	91. Mongolia	141. Uganda
42. Eritrea	92. Morocco	142. United Arab Emirates
43. Estonia	93. Mozambique	143. United Kingdom of Great Britain and
44. Ethiopia	94. Myanmar	Northern Ireland
45. Fiji	95. Namibia	144. United Republic of Tanzania

96. Nepal

97. Netherlands

99. Nicaragua

100. Niger

98. New Zealand

145. United States of America

146. Uruguay

148. Vietnam

149. Zambia

147. Venezuela

150. Zimbabwe

46. Finland

47. France

48. Gabon

49. Gambia

50. Germany

The following are allowed to enter the Philippines without a visa for a stay not exceeding fifty-nine (59) days:

- 1. Holders of Brazil passports; and
- 2. Holders of Israel passports

The following are allowed to enter the Philippines without a visa for a stay not exceeding seven (7) days:

- 3. Holders of Hong Kong Special Administrative (SAR) passports
- 4. Holders of British National Overseas (BNO) passports
- 5. Holders of Portuguese Passports issued in Macao
- 6. Holders of Macao Special Administrative Region (SAR) passports

Important Note: Nationals who are subjects of deportation/blacklist orders of the Department and the Bureau of Immigration shall not be admitted to the Philippines.